

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

October 2, 2018

LOS ANGELES— We are pleased to announce that the submission window is now open for the 2019 *Art and Olfaction Awards*. Submissions will be accepted until November 15th, 2018 at 11:59 PM (PST).

Continuing the tradition of holding the awards in unique locations in different perfume capitals of the world, the sixth annual Art and Olfaction Awards events will take place in **early May** at a public ceremony in **Amsterdam**.

Awarded to just four perfumes, one experimental scent project, and two special awards—the Aftel Award and the Contribution to Scent Culture—a year, *The Art and Olfaction Awards* are designed to raise public interest and awareness around new developments in independent perfumery. The Awards, established in 2014 by the Institute for Art and Olfaction, are given to outstanding creators in the categories of independent, artisan, and experimental perfume from across the globe, chosen for perfumes released in 2018.

Each Art and Olfaction Award winner will receive *The Golden Pear*, which continues to cement its status as a prestigious achievement in the perfume world. As with past years, our panel of esteemed judges includes luminaries from the perfume and art worlds.

The members of the jury for the Art and Olfaction Awards 2019 include:

Independent Category Shortlisting Committee

Andy Tauer (Switzerland), Bibiana Prival (USA), Frederic Jacques (USA), Harald Lubner (Germany), Mark Behnke (USA), Rachel Syme (USA)

Artisan Category, Shortlisting Committee

Marta Siembab (Poland), Matthias Janke (Germany), Spyros Drosopoulos (Netherlands), Ulrike Knöll (Germany), More To Be Announced

Independent and Artisan, Finals Committee

These judges will blindly select the winners in the Artisan and Independent categories, out of the shortlisted perfumes.

Denyse Beaulieu (France), Jeanne Doré (France), Katie Puckrik (UK), Sarah McCartney (UK), More To Be Announced

Sadakichi Award, Shortlisting and Finals

These judges will select the five finalists and the winner from the pool of experimental category submissions.

Anna Gerber (UK), Arabelle Sicardi (USA), Claire Evans (USA), Darin Klein (USA), Simon Niedenthal (Sweden)

Aftel Award, Special Committee

These judges will blindly select the winner of the Aftel Award for Handmade Perfume from the ten top-scoring qualifying Artisan submissions.

Daniel Patterson (USA), Harold McGee (USA), Mandy Aftel (USA)

###

The Art and Olfaction Awards was founded in 2012 as an independent awards mechanism designed to celebrate innovation and excellence in artisan and independent perfume, and experimentation in scent within arts practices. The Art and Olfaction Awards are a program of The Institute for Art and Olfaction, a 501(c)3 non-profit based in Los Angeles, CA.

The Art and Olfaction Awards could not exist without the generous support of our partners at Perfumer's Apprentice, Lucky Scent / Scent Bar, Pochpac, Esxence, Wilhelm Perfume, Sarah Horowitz Parfums, Taylor Box Company, Allies Design Studio, Nez – La Revue Olfactive, ÇaFleureBon, Basenotes, Scent Culture Institute, Silent Green, Perfumed Plume Awards, and Beski Projekts.

The Institute for Art and Olfaction is a 501(c)3 non-profit based in Los Angeles, CA. The Institute for Art and Olfaction advances public and artistic engagement with scent. We do this by initiating and supporting arts projects that utilize the medium of scent, by providing accessible and affordable education in our experimental laboratory as well as in partnership with institutions and community groups, and by celebrating excellence in independent and artisan perfumery through our yearly award mechanism, The Art and Olfaction Awards. Through these efforts, we extend the world of scent beyond its traditional boundaries of appreciation and use.

MORE INFORMATION:

http://artandolfactionawards.com/ http://artandolfaction.com/

For press inquiries please contact:

Maxwell Williams, Press and Communications Officer
maxwell@artandolfaction.com - 213-271-6145