

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

March 23, 2017

MILAN— Awarded to just four perfumes and one experimental scent project a year, *The Art and Olfaction Awards* are designed to raise public interest and awareness around new developments in independent perfumery. The Awards, established in 2014 by the Institute for Art and Olfaction, are given to outstanding creators in the categories of independent, artisan, and experimental perfume from across the globe, chosen for perfumes released in 2016.

The fourth annual Art and Olfaction Awards events will take place in a public ceremony at the *Silent Green Kulturquartier*—a former crematorium built in 1911 revitalized as an arts venue—in Berlin, Germany on May 6, 2017.

Each A+O Award winner will receive **The Golden Pear**, which continues to cement its status as a prestigious achievement in the perfume world.

As with past years, our panel of esteemed judges includes luminaries from the perfume and art worlds. Some of the members of the Art and Olfaction Awards 2017 jury include Luca Turin; Christophe Laudamiel; Annick Le Guérer; Matthias Janke, Katie Puckrik; Mandy Aftel; Andy Tauer; Denyse Beaulieu; Steven Gontarski; Bruno Fazzolari; Harald Lubner; Caro Verbeek; Kaya Sorhaindo; Matthias Tabert; and Andrew Berardini.

THE FINALISTS FOR THE FOURTH ANNUAL ART AND OLFACTION AWARDS

ARTISAN CATEGORY FINALISTS

Baraonda by **Nasomatto** Perfumer: Alessandro Gualtieri The Netherlands

Bruise Violet by **Sixteen92** Perfumer: Claire Baxter USA

Ceremony by **Mirus Fine Fragrance** Perfumer: Neal Peters USA

Fatih Sultan Mehmed by Fort and Manlé Parfum Perfumer: Rasei Fort Australia

Limestone by Thorn & Bloom Perfumer: Jennifer Botto USA *Liquorice Vetiver* by **SP Parfums** Perfumer: Sven Pritzkoleit Germany

Mélodie de l'Amour by **Parfums Dusita** Perfumer: Pissara Umavijani France

Onycha by **DSH Perfumes** Perfumer: Dawn Spencer Hurwitz USA

Rosuerrier by **Pryn Parfum** Perfumer: Prin Lomros Thailand

Saffron by Aether Arts Perfume Perfumer: Amber Jobin USA

Vanilla & The Sea by Phoenix Botanicals Perfumer: Irina Adam USA

INDEPENDENT CATEGORY FINALISTS

Absolue D'Osmanthe by Perris Monte Carlo

Creative Director: Gian Luca Perris Perfumer: Jean Michel Santorini Monaco

Altruist by J.F. Schwarzlose Berlin

Creative Director: Lutz Herrmann Perfumer: Véronique Nyberg Germany

Anti Anti by Atelier PMP

Creative Directors: Stefanie Mayr, Daniel Plettenberg Perfumers: Mark Buxton, David Chieze Germany

Belle de Jour by Eris Parfums

Creative Director: Barbara Herman Perfumer: Antoine Lie USA

Civet by Zoologist

Creative Director: Victor Wong Perfumer: Shelley Waddington Canada

Close Up by Olfactive Studio

Creative Director: Céline Verleure Perfumer: Annick Mennardo France

Fathom V by BeauFort London

Creative Director: Leo Crabtree Perfumer: Julie Marlowe UK

Lankaran Forest by Maria Candida Gentile Maitre Parfumeur

Creative Director: Maria Candida Gentile Perfumer: Maria Candida Gentile Italy

Maître Chausseur by Extrait D'Atelier

Creative Director: Chiara Ronzani Perfumer: Not Disclosed Italy

Romanza by Masque Milano

Creative Directors: Alessandro Brun, Riccardo Tedeschi Perfumer: Cristiano Canali Italy

Stones by Atelier de Geste

Creative Director: Beau Rhee Perfumer: Irina Nesa USA

SADAKICHI AWARD FINALISTS

Smell of Data by Leanne Wijnsma

Project lead: Leanne Wijnsma Perfumer: Leanne Wijnsma with ScentAir The Netherlands

Is This Mankind, by Peter de Cupere Project lead: Peter de Cupere Perfumers: Various

Belgium

Osmodrama Berlin via Smeller 2.0 Project lead: Wolfgang Georgsdorf Perfumers: Various Germany, Austria

The Feelies: Multisensory Storytelling Project lead: Grace Boyle Perfumer: Nadjib Achaibou UK

Paradise Paradoxe

Project lead: Elodie Pong Perfumer: Anonymous Switzerland

CONTRIBUTION TO SCENT CULTURE AWARD

In partnership with Pochpac, we are pleased to announce the **Contribution to Scent Culture Award**. This award will be given to one outstanding person who made significant contributions to global public awareness of artisan, independent and experimental practices with scent in 2016. The winner will be announced at the fourth annual Art and Olfaction Awards.

###

The Art and Olfaction Awards was founded in 2012 as an independent awards mechanism designed to celebrate innovation and excellence in artisan and independent perfume, and experimentation in scent within arts practices. The Art and Olfaction Awards are a program of The Institute for Art and Olfaction, a 501(c)3 non-profit based in Los Angeles, CA.

The Art and Olfaction Awards could not exist without the generous support of our partners at Perfumer's Apprentice, Lucky Scent / Scent Bar, Pochpac, Esxence, Wilhelm Perfume, Sarah Horowitz Parfums, Taylor Box Company, Allies Design Studio, Nez – La Revue Olfactive, ÇaFleureBon, Basenotes, Scent Culture Institute, Silent Green, Perfumed Plume Awards, and Beski Projekts.

The Institute for Art and Olfaction is a 501(c)3 non-profit based in Los Angeles, CA. The Institute for Art and Olfaction advances public and artistic engagement with scent. We do this by initiating and supporting arts projects that utilize the medium of scent, by providing accessible and affordable education in our experimental laboratory as well as in partnership with institutions and community groups, and by celebrating excellence in independent and artisan perfumery through our yearly award mechanism, The Art and Olfaction Awards. Through these efforts, we extend the world of scent beyond its traditional boundaries of appreciation and use.

MORE INFORMATION:

http://artandolfactionawards.com/ http://artandolfaction.com/

> For press inquiries please contact: Maxwell Williams, Press and Communications Officer maxwell@artandolfaction.com - 213-271-6145